Charles M. Lieber

1988 Fellow

Current Institution: Harvard University

Materials Science, Nanotechnology

Visit Lab Website

About Charles M. Lieber's Work

Chemistry and physics of materials with an emphasis on nanoscale materials; rational synthesis of new nanoscale materials and nanostructured solids; development of methodologies for hierarchical assembly of nanoscale materials into complex and functional systems; investigation of fundamental electronic, optical and optoelectronic properties of nanoscale materials; design and development of nanoelectronics and nanophotonic systems with emphasis on digital and quantum computing, nano-enabled photovoltaics for renewable energy, nanoelectronic-biology interfaces with emphasis on real-time, ultra-sensitive biodetectors, new tools for neuroscience and cell biology, and novel nanoelectronic interfaces to tissue and organs.

Awards and Achievements

Nano Research Award, Tsinghua University Press/Springer (2013)

IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer Award (2013)

Willard Gibbs Medal (2013)

Wolf Prize in Chemistry (2012)

Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, Materials Research Society (2010)

Friendship Award, People’s Republic of China (2009)

Inorganic Nanoscience Award, ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry (2009)

Pioneer Award, National Institutes of Health (2008)

Einstein Award, Chinese Academy of Sciences (2008)

NBIC Research Excellence Award, University of Pennsylvania (2007)

Nanotech Briefs Nano 50 Award (2005); World Technology Award in Materials (2004)

ACS Award in the Chemistry of Materials (2004)

Scientific American 50 Award in Nanotechnology and Molecular Electronics (2003)

Nelson W. Taylor Award, Pennsylvania State University (2003)

World Technology Award in Materials (2003)

New York Intellectual Property Law Association Inventor of the Year Award (2003)

APS McGroddy Prize for New Materials (2003)

Harrison Howe Award, University of Rochester (2002)

MRS Medal (2002)

Foresight Institute Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology (2001)

NSF Creativity Award (1996)

Leo Hendrik Baekeland Award, American Chemical Society (1995)

George Ledlie Prize, Harvard University (1994-1995)

MRS Outstanding Young Investigator Award (1993)

ACS Award in Pure Chemistry (1992)

Denkewalter Prize, Loyola University Chicago (1992)

Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1990-1995)

Wilson Prize (1990)

NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award (1988-199)

Distinguished New Faculty Award, Dreyfus Foundation (1987)

American Institute of Chemists Distinguished Senior Award (1981)

Theodore Saulnier Research Award (1981)

Pentathlon Medal for Excellence in Chemistry (1981)